green sangria

We were back at the cottage again last weekend. Man I love it there! Every time we go I don’t want to come home. After 5 weeks of being away from home though I have to admit it was definitely nice to be back. This past Sunday at the cottage I took a chance on a sangria that even had a vegetable in it! (Cucumbers are a vegetable right? That whole ‘seeds on the inside thing’ always screws me up).

green sangria ingredients

I got the recipe inspiration from Better Homes and Gardens Cucumber Sangria. The original recipe seemed like overkill on the fruit and veg to me so I halved the quantities they called for and there was still plenty.

green sangria in a pitcher

I think this week’s sangria might have been the most pleasing to the eye, all the shades of green looked so crisp and refreshing in the pitcher and in the glass. A girlfriend and I sat in the sun on the porch shared the pitcher and both really enjoyed it. She loves mint and cucumber in drinks so this was a big hit with her. Personally I found the lime and mint a bit over powering by the second glass, but I cut it with a little extra wine and soda and it was perfect.

green sangria

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

green sangria

Ingredients:

  • half a honeydew melon, thinly sliced
  • half a seedless cucumber, thinly sliced
  • half a lime, thinly sliced
  • juice of half a lime
  • 8 fresh mint leaves
  • 2 tbsp. of honey
  • 1 bottle of semi-dry white wine, chilled
  • 1 litre of carbonated water or club soda, chilled

Directions:

  1. Add lime juice and honey to a pitcher and stir.
  2. Add the remainder of the ingredients except the carbonated water/soda and stir.
  3. Refrigerate 2 hours.
  4. Add carbonated water/soda and stir.
  5. Pour into glasses being sure to add a bit of each type of fruit into each glass
  6. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “green sangria

  1. Pingback: 10 superb sangrias | it's my round!

  2. Pingback: classic cocktails: mojito | it's my round!

Leave a Reply

