classic cocktails: tom collins

After last week’s gin tasting we had quite a bit of extra gin to find a use for. The guys of course imbibed in many gin and tonics, but I’ve been dying to dabble with the classic cocktails so I mixed up some Tom Collins. The results were mixed: 2 thumbs up and 2 thumbs down (and everyone agreed they were afraid to hold on to my grandmother’s vintage glasses), but shockingly I was one of the thumbs up! I actually enjoyed it!! I have never been a gin drinker and you’d think after the gin tasting I’d be afraid to even try a gin based cocktail, but I did, and I liked it! Maybe the baptism by fire of our neat-gin tasting has converted me from a gin hater to a gin lover tolerator??

tom colllins

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 5 mins
  • Difficulty: moderate
  • Print

classic cocktails: tom collins

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz gin
  • 1-2 oz lemon juice (to taste)
  • 2 tsp simple syrup (combine equal parts water and sugar; bring to boil until sugar melts, remove from heat and cool)
  • Club soda, chilled
  • Maraschino cherry, lemon or orange slices for garnish

Directions:

  1. Fill a cocktail shaker half full with ice. Add the gin, lemon juice, and simple syrup to the shaker and shake until cold.
  2. Fill Collins glass with ice. Strain into the ice filled glasses.
  3. Top with club soda and garnish with lemon/orange wheels and a maraschino cherry.
  4. Serve with tall straws.
  5. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

